BRANDING YOUR 15+ YEARS OF WORK VIA BLOGS + MY NEW #analytics PROJECT RULES

READERS, TWEEPS! WHEN I SEE PUBLICATIONS AND TEACHING, BUT NO BLOG, I WONDER….

ALSO, AFTER 15 YEARS, YOUR COMPANY HAS HIRED A 30 YEAR OLD MANAGER OR DIRECTOR WHO HANDLED A NIKE PROJECT ONCE. HE THINKS YOU ARE A COBWEB. START BLOGGING AND BRANDING 15 YEARS OF WORK YESTERDAY!

IF I CAN BLOG, WHY CANT THEY? A DATA ANALYST/PROGRAMMER/BOTH SHOULD BECAUSE A BLOG IS THE CURRENT DAY’S GITHUB AND RESUME’ ROLLED IN ONE. I CAN TWEET ABOUT GETTING WASTED  OR MY FRAT PHOTOS OR I COULD BRAND MY WORK. THERE IS HARD WORK,  HONESTY AND ENERGY. THE LONGER ONE BLOGS, THE MORE LIKELY THAT YOU ARE A DEDICATED WORKER. THIS IS THE WORK YOU DO , WITHOUT SUPERVISION FOR THE WORLD TO SEE. YOU HAVE COMPLETE CREATIVE CONTROL.

SO WHY would you not blog?

LET ME TELL YOU WHY I TOOK TO BLOGGING

Have you attended a meeting where you were forced to come up with a solution in 30 minutes? If so please post a comment! A meeting lead to a superior asking for better ideas. I came up with something no one had ever heard of, and it got applause.

The trouble with this kind of creative research environment is that newbies like me do not know how to document their ideas and make sure they get credit. I (foolishly) signed up for projects that were confidential. I the could not share how well I did and it all depended on one person who lost credibility with the department. 14 months, no testimonial. I learned a LOT!

I just cannot tell you how when and where!

Hence  the need for Github and blogs. As a contractor, I was a code monkey. As a blogger, I am respected for my insight, and my humor gets awesome tweets. ( I have several bogs, LOL!!) I am not the content king… because I just started. If I put in a tenth of the time I put in my work, I will make big strides. Why are you not doing that?

While my requirements  may be changed by bosses at work, here, they are frozen beyond a certain point. In a team setting, if I don’t get the finished product from others, I cant test for usability and speeds. No usability reports and comparison with spec list.

The analytics project:

I was recruited to analyze a massive data set.

My company bid on 6 months and I finished it in 4. I was given a new project. the analysis I carried out decreased their production cost by 5% in 4 months.  I wanted a raise. I pointed out how I was the only one who included the results of four different kinds of tests and trained newbies  while finishing the project. I also wrote two help manuals. I told everyone to start using ADOBE Captivate and RoboHelp manuals. I incorporated versioning of emails and software because we did not have an in-house messaging system.

I did not get a raise. I finished the project and my recruiter will never send me to that company again while that boss is still there. As a contractor, I lost my identity and never got a chance to establish my brand. I never had a good mentor.

Do all that you do, but the following are in addition to what your are doing. Here is my solution now:

  • Ask all team members to  agree to a freeze requirement date
  • Add 4 weeks to the time needed.
  • Psuedocode and documentation are your friends.
  • Versioning and taking screenshots with time , date and  TERMINAL STAMPS  == POSSIBLE.
  • HAVE A DELIVERABLES MEETING 2 WEEKS INTO OR LESS.
  • find other talent and get as much of your code from your own personal archive as possible.
  • Get boss to email comments and acknowledge ALL suggestions. Minutes of the meetings are so key here.
  • incorporate changes in to the flowchart and update it frequently with dates and goals that have been reached.

Develop you brand via blogs, Github, message boards:

Blog about a solution you came up with. I will be happy to read and comment.

Did you solve a  data issue? I did. We had very inadequate data for sales for the past 2 months.

Here what happened to me:

I asked my boss: How much data do we have? Do we have data from 2011 on wards?

No. “Last year? The year before?” ” May be”. “Good enough. I will look at workforce, KPIs and then I will give you a projected solution” I gave him some numbers. We were off by a very small percentage despite missing data.I will not get a testimonial. I did get experience in Oracle Rightnow, Genesys etc. I now have better solutions. I post them here or email my pals, so now I have excellent feedback, testimonials and my own brand.

I will give you some idea of what to expect AND HOW TO MINIMIZE LOSS. Remeber how awful your boss can be? Here is what you do. Email and thank him and Cc that to two others who matter, LIKE say HR and your recruiter or your placement firm. thank him for something he may have suggested WHILE underscoring what you did on The second EMAIL.

Example:

Mr.Boss,

CC: Mr.Recruiter, Mr.HR:

The suggestion you gave about saving everything as tab-delimited file before and after, on the 11 th DID work. I was a little doubtful because of the past history. I will use it for this issue with cohort analysis in future.

Sincerely,

Analytics123

Your boss: Sure, and I have another suggestion .

Second email : May be unleash your need to get data from ALL campaigns and sales since 2010 which he has been hold close to his chest for fear of god knows what.

CC: data managers.

Let me know  what you think. This has worked with MY boss.

Sincerely

YOURS,

#iblogstats

Leave a Reply

